Skip to content

WMATA

September 3, 2008

I was on the way to work this morning and it popped in my head that I should post on the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA), or as us locals say, Metro. While I waited for the Orange line to arrive and take me a couple of miles down to work in Clarendon, I started to think about how wonderfully convenient this system is. My friend, Amber, who’s currently on the journey of teaching English in Buenos Aires, Argentina, just recently posted on her experiences with the Subte. I guess I take my inspiration from her.

I have been on many subway systems here in the U.S., as well as abroad. DC is definitely one of the best out there. It rivals London and Madrid for cleanliness. There are no bathrooms and no eating or drinking. Although the lack of bathrooms can be a pain at times, the fact that it doesn’t smell like pee when you head down the escalator speaks volumes. It is also almost always on-time unless there is work being done or unforeseen delays. There is even a great website, Meenster, that allows you to quickly check when the next train is coming. This really comes in handy during off-peak times when trains may be 15-20 minutes away.

It may be that I head the opposite direction, into the suburbs and not into DC, but I don’t feel smashed like I do in other underground systems. I’ve felt like a sardine on the way into DC after a day’s work, but nothing will ever compare to Rome’s subway system. And DC’s Metro is clean. Did I mention that? Yeah, probably, but that is a great feature and I hope that doesn’t change as the system gets older. Not feeling like you’re about to walk into a dungeon is a big plus (i.e. Boston’s “T”)!

The Washington Post has also started publishing the free Express newspaper. I can get all of my news in quick, to-the-point stories and go online if I want to read more. Sometimes I hold onto it and read it back-to-back. From my understanding this is a very new addition to the Metro. Kellyn and I have just arrived in DC at the perfect time!


The domes present in all of the Metro stations


Orange line arriving at Rosslyn station


Inside of the train


Dancing on the way home

2 Comments
  1. Amber D permalink

    Yeah, whatever. Just write a post about how great and un-squished your Metro is. Now I’m green with envy. You can READ on the Metro? That is pure luxury. AND it doesn’t smell? I hate you.

  2. Kellyn and Daniel permalink

    It’s pretty sweet. Don’t think I haven’t been squished on a Metro. Just go to Rome and their horrible public transportation. You don’t hate me. You’re just jealous. 🙂

Leave a Reply

