Skip to content

Sleep Deprived …

May 27, 2009

This month has been full of events … and work. I’ve been pretty swamped at work but I’m full of energy. Sometimes I feel like I’m on steroids (don’t worry … I’m not). It seems that since I started working out more (we have a great gym and swimming pool in our building) my body keeps on going and going and going. Maybe I’m the Energizer Bunny.^^ It’s funny that I can get up at 7 am on the weekends. If you know me you know I am not a morning person. Am I getting older or am I just excited to go out? I think it’s the latter.

Daniel and I have definitely been taking advantage of all the amenities in our building. Everything is so convenient! The best part is I’m swimming better. I love our year-long, heated indoor pool. Daniel says I still look like I’m trying to ask for help when I swim but I can move forward better. Ha ha! It’s not easy to find convenience like this at your door step.

At the beginning of this month we went to Fiesta Asia with Jennifer. I still don’t understand why Korean food is nonexistent at this festival. The best giveaways were, to our surprise, from McDonald’s. It was pretty a warm day so the apples and apple juice helped. I didn’t get to see the dance demonstration (I cried at the Korean dance last year) but the Tae-Kwon-Do performance was pretty great.

We bought mountain bikes to ride along the Potomac River’s Mt. Vernon Trail. I’ve been so envious of the many cyclists and I’m excited to finally join them. I won’t be a serious cyclist with the need for speed. I’ll be geared (no pun intended) to cruising. I was going to buy a cruiser but the mountain bike was a better option for now. Daniel customized my bike to fit my short legs and satisfy my fear of speed. We went to Gravelly Point to see the airplanes take off and land at National Regan Airport. It’s such a beautiful park along Potomac River and it’s only a 10 minute bike ride from our place.

Oh … Daniel got dress rehearsal tickets to Legacy of Light at the Arena Stage. It was so cool to see a play before opening night, especially for free. The show was witty, clever and made us laugh. And the best part was that we were able to walk there in 10 minutes.

For Memorial Day weekend, my parents, Daniel and I went to St. Michaels for a crab feast. It’s only a couple of hours from our place and it feels like you’re in a completely different world. It’s surrounded by water, full of cute beach houses and they have cheap, yummy crabs. It can be a pain to crack everything but then you get to the meat … it’s heavenly. That’s what makes it so fun.

This past Sunday, we got a chance to go to National Park for Nats game. It’s a “green” ballpark so it’s too bad the Nats suck. We must have been lucky, because they hite two homers (one a Grand Slam) and won the game against the Baltimore Orioles. It’s so funny … the Orioles lose every time I see them play. After the game, we stopped by Ugly Mug for drinks and Ben’s Chili Bowl for chili fries and half-smokes. It’s the best chili place ever! I’ve never been a big fan of chili but this place is different. I’ve had Pinks and Tommy’s in LA, but they were a little greasy and I felt nothing special. The chili at BCB has a unique flavor and I love how spicy it is. So yummy!

So, yeah … as much as I want to keep moving, I need to unplug myself and have a nice, slow weekend soon.

Wearing some Taiwanese hat at Asia Festival
Wearing Taiwanese hats at Fiesta Asia
Daniel's fixing my bike

Daniel fixing my bike

Legacy of Lights at Arena Stage

Legacy of Light at Arena Stage

National's Stadium

Nationals Park

National's Stadium

Nationals Park

Driving to St. Michaels in Maryland

Driving to St. Michaels on the Eastern Shore of Maryland

We love crabs!

We love eating fresh crab!

Beautiful Day at St. Michaels

Beautiful Day at St. Michaels

Taking a nap on the metro

Taking a nap on the metro (I do this often^^)

3 Comments
  1. Kellyn, I love the pictures! Especially the one of the metro… there’s no one one there! Amazing, haha. Sounds like you guys are having fun!

  2. Kellyn, I love the pictures! Especially the one of the metro… there’s no one on there! Amazing, haha. Sounds like you guys are having fun!

  3. It was almost the last stop but you can see some people reflected on the window. Anyway, we’re watching “HGTV House Hunters International” and this couple is buying a condo in Bueno Aires. It’s BEAUTIFUL!!!

Leave a Reply

