Skip to content

June Already?

June 9, 2009

The CAKE concert at the 9:30 Club was so much fun! The venue has two floors. On the second floor, you have a good view of the stage, as well as the entire venue. They gave out free cupCAKEs (not so good) and CAKE posters , which I loved so much I had to put it on my cubicle wall.

I was off on Wednesday for my mom’s appointment with her breast cancer surgeon. It’s been two years since her initial diagnosis and the doctor was so pleased with how my mom’s been healing. She said 80% of cancer comes back within the first two years, so the two year anniversary is huge. The doctor has a “breast cancer survivor’s chair” for  women with successful treatment to sign. We were completely full of joy.^^

Fighting for cancer was one thing but the fear of having it come back has been with me for the last couple of years. I feel like I can relax a little bit now. One of the most important lesson I learned since her treatment started was that life means nothing without feelings, excitement and new experiences. Material things mean nothing to me. The typical American dream of the “big house with the white picket fence” is ridiculous to me. I guess I have always felt that way but talking with the other patients sitting next to my mom, and seeing their faces, made me realize it even more. I feel happy when I go on a picnic with my family. I feel warm inside when a bus driver recognizes me in front of our building, then stops so I don’t miss it. I get so excited walking around the city with Daniel and finding new neighborhood that we never knew existed. That’s what I want for my life. I don’t need the luxurious stuff that lacks feeling. My mom felt so horrible when I decided to move back and when our wedding got postponed. But, now, Daniel and I very grateful for her. We started a brand new life in an exciting city, all because of her. Most of all, she gave both of us a new direction and perspective for life.

Speaking of an exciting city, we went to a cocktail party at the City Vista condo in Mt. Vernon Triangle. It’s a brand new condo and they hosted a cocktail party for future homebuyers. What a great marketing idea! The food and wine was great and we took another tour of the condos. We found out there was another cocktail party at a brand new apartment in Columbia Heights. We need to keep looking out for the open houses with great food and booze.

Last weekend, we explored Cleveland Park, Adams Morgan and Rock Creek Park. This Italian store, Vace, in Cleveland Park makes come of the best pizza around and is full of imported Italian goodies. We grabbed a couple and had a picnic in Rock Creek Park with friends. Cleveland Park is beautiful residential neighborhood in the city with a definite European architectural influence. We are always amazed, when walking around and exploring, by how much DC feels like Europe. But, then again, L’Enfant did design the city with Paris as a basis.

This past Sunday, we celebrated my mom’s birthday a little bit early, it’s actually next week, by having a BBQ on our rooftop. Daniel taught me how to make his signature BBQ corn and it was pretty darn good. Then my mom helped me make a spicy Korean marinade for the chicken. It was yummy!

I unexpectedly stayed late at work last Friday night. It used to happen a lot at my previous job but I have since forgotten about that. I ended up being really late for Jennifer’s birthday dinner and missed the delicious spicy tuna rolls at Adam Express. But on Monday my boss left me a bottle of wine with a thank you note on my desk. How sweet is that?! Seriously, I can’t say enough about how much I love my boss and how much I appreciate him.

2 Comments
  1. Jennifer permalink

    He gave you a bottle of wine as thank you gift? That’s soooo sweet! ^^

  2. I know. Such a sweet guy!

Leave a Reply

