Skip to content

Priscilla Ahn Show

August 31, 2009

A couple of Sundays ago, we went to see Priscilla Ahn’s show at the Iota Club & Cafe. We got there early and ate a catfish wrap at the bar. The food was pretty good for “bar food.”

When we walked into the venue Priscilla was standing right in front of the stage. I was so shocked to see her and I probably looked like some crazy fan with an “I can’t believe I just saw her” face. She said “hi” to me and I said “hi” back. I felt like a 15-year-old again. I was so excited to see my favorite singer and got nervous. She was talking to her band and hanging out at the bar. Her voice was so pure even when she was talking casually.

We were lucky enough to grab a seat at the bar which was still close to the stage. The venue is pretty small so wherever you are, you have pretty good view of the entire stage. Her voice was so sweet and dreamy. She had stories behind all of her lyrics. I loved all of her behind the scenes explanations, especially Boob Song Story, Wallflower, and Leave the Light On. I found her stories so real, especially when she talked about how she first decided to move to LA, how she felt so different from everyone there and how much she missed the rain. I can’t agree enough with how much I missed the rain on the east coast. It was the last night of her tour—which spanned Europe, Asia, and the US—so it was even more meaningful. She has an AMAZING voice, a big of sense of humor and a cute personality.

At the end of the show, I bought her EP and new album then waited until she came out again to get her autograph. As soon as she came out, everyone stood in line and got her autograph. I asked her if she could speak Korean and she said “not really.” It was truly one of the best shows Daniel and I have ever been to. I can’t wait for her next album.^^

From → Events, Virginia

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

